How to hide User list on Ubuntu logon screen

This brief tutorial shows students and new users how to hide or disable user list on Ubuntu logon screen.

By default when you install Ubuntu lists all user accounts on the logon screen. All users are listed and each user can select their account name on the list and login by typing the correct password.

If you want users to type both their username and password – (this can add another layer of security), simply disable user list on the logon screen.

Before a user can successfully login, that user should be able to know both the username and the password for the account.

If you’re a student or new user looking for a Linux system to start with, the easiest place to start is Ubuntu Linux OS. It’s a great Linux operating system for beginners and folks looking for easier Linux distribution to use.

Ubuntu is an open source Linux operating systems that runs on desktops, laptops, server and other devices.

When using Ubuntu, you will find that Linux isn’t so different than Windows and other operating systems in so many ways, especially when it comes to using the system to get work done.

To get started with disabling user list on Ubuntu logon screen, follow the steps below:

Disable user list on logon screen

For security minded professionals, removing user list on the logon screen is another way to provide security to desktops.

To do that on Ubuntu, simply run the commands below to open the greeter configuration file.

First, press Ctrl – Alt – T on your keyboard to open Terminal.

The run the commands below:

sudo nano /etc/gdm3/greeter.dconf-defaults

When the file opens, un-comment (#) the highlighted line in the file as shown below and save.

# Login manager options
# =====================
[org/gnome/login-screen]
#logo='/usr/share/images/vendor-logos/logo-text-version-128.png'

# - Disable user list
 disable-user-list=true
# - Disable restart buttons
# disable-restart-buttons=true
# - Show a login welcome message

Save the file and exit.

Restart

After making the changes, restart your desktop and see the changes.

On the logon screen, users will need to type both the user name and password correctly to gain access.

Conclusion:

This post showed you how to disable user list on Ubuntu logon screen. If you find any error above, please use the comment form below to report.

You may also like the post below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.