Google Chrome web browser has a feature that automatically syncs your bookmarks, history, passwords and other settings across all your other devices…. from your mobile devices to your computer and across different platforms…
Syncing your info in Google Chrome can be very helpful in that… If you change devices (like if you lose your phone or get a new laptop), you’ll get all your info back once you sign on to the new device with your account…
You can also personalize your experience with other Google services like your web and app activities… Syncing your data across devices may also pose a risk… in that if someone manage to logon to your device with your account, they will be able to see your synced data and activities…
Your priority when syncing your data should be to enable 2-factor authentication or improve the security of your devices…To get started with turning syncing on or off in Chrome, please follow the steps below:
Turning on Sync
To turn on sync, you’ll need a Google Account.
- While you’re logged on to your computer, open Google Chrome….
- At the top right, click Profile .
- If you’re already signed in with your Google Account, this will be your account photo.
- Click Turn on sync Turn on.
- If you’re not signed in, you’ll have to sign in to your Google Account to turn on sync.
If you want to sync more than one account or you share your computer with others, learn how to add a profile in Chrome.
Turning off Sync
If you turn off sync, you can still see your bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings…. If you make any changes, they won’t be saved to your Google Account and synced to your other devices.
When you turn off sync, you’ll also be signed out of other Google services, like Gmail.
- While you’re logged on to your computer, open Google Chrome.
- At the top right, click More Settings.
- At the top, under “People,” click Turn off Turn off.
That is how one signs on and off Google Chrome synced profiles…..
You may also like the post below: