If you delete files or folders using Ubuntu desktop environment via file manager, the deleted items are placed in the Trash folder, and it’s possible to restore those items at a later date to their original location.
If a file was deleted and the trash was emptied, then you may have to use other tools to restore your file. and may not be able to fully restore. The restore feature is there simply to restore items that were accidentally removed or stuff you may wish to restore later.
If you want to completely delete or erase items from Ubuntu, select the item and press the Shift + Delete keys. Using the Shift + Delete keys to delete an item will permanent delete it and won’t be recovered from the Trash using the trash restore feature.
There are a number of recovery tools available that are sometimes able to recover files that were permanently deleted. These tools are generally not very easy to use, however. If you accidentally permanently deleted a file, it’s probably best to ask for advice on a support forum to see if you can recover it.If you accidentally deleted an item, use the steps below to recover it from the Trash on Ubuntu.
- Open the Activities overview and start typing Files.
- Click on Files to open the file manager.
- Click Trash in the sidebar. If you do not see the sidebar, click Files in the top bar and pick Sidebar.
- If your deleted file is there, click on it and select Restore. It will be restored to the folder from where it was deleted.
When you delete an item it is moved to the Trash folder, where it is stored until you empty the trash. You can restore items in the Trash folder to their original location if you decide you need them, or if they were accidentally deleted.
When you’re in the Trash folder, select the item you wish to restore and right-click it. then select Restore From Trash.
You can also click the Restore button at the top of the screen to restore a deleted item.
That should do it!
You may also like the post below: