How to Turn Off Password Protected Sharing in Windows 11

This post shows students and new users steps to enable or disable password protected sharing when using Windows 11. Windows 11 comes with password protected sharing on by default. This allows for shared resources to be accessed by only those who have accounts with username and password on the system.

With password protected sharing on, only account holders on your computer can access shared files and folders, printers, and the public folders. This is a security feature. However, you can turn this off so anyone who is connected to the same network is able to access shared folders and resources.

The new Windows 11 comes with many new features with new user desktop, including centered Start menu and taskbar, rounded corners windows, themes and colors that will make any Windows look and feel modern.

If you’re exited about Windows 11, keep reading out posts on it.

To get started with turning On or Off password protected sharing in Windows 11, follow the steps below:

How to disable password protected sharing in Windows 11

As mentioned above, password protected sharing is enabled by default in Windows 11. With this enabled, only people who have accounts on the computer will be able to access shared files, printers and other resources.

To give other people access to shared resources, you’ll need to turn off password protected sharing, and the steps below show you how.

To enable this, click on the Start menu, then search for “Manage advanced sharing settings“, select relevant result as highlighted.

When Advanced sharing settings pane opens, click the arrow to expand All networks.

There, select the option to “Turn off password protected sharing” as highlighted below. Then click Save changes.

That should do it!

How to turn on password protected sharing in Windows 11

If you change you mind about enabling password protected sharing above, simply go and reverse the steps above by selecting the Start menu ==> and searching for “Manage advanced sharing settings“, then expanding All networks, and selecting to “Turn on password protected sharing

That should do it!

Now when you enable file and printer sharing in Windows, other users who have no accounts on the system should be able to see and access the shares as long as the resources are shared with everyone.

Conclusion:

This post showed you how to enable or disable password protected sharing in Windows 11. If you find any error above, please use the comment form below to report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.