How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network in Windows 11

This post shows students and new users steps to forget WiFi networks when using Windows 11. Everytime you connect to a WiFi network, Windows 11 saves the Wi-Fi password and other details so it can automatically reconnect when you’re within range of the network.

In some situations, you might not want Windows not to remember or keep a network information store forever. The good thing is Windows allows you go forget a network so all its stored info and data are deleted.

There are multiple ways one can go about deleting or forgetting Wi-Fi network details in Windows, and the steps below will show you a few of them.

The new Windows 11 comes with many new features with new user desktop, including centered Start menu and taskbar, rounded corners windows, themes and colors that will make any Windows look and feel modern.

If you’re exited about Windows 11, keep reading out posts on it.

To get started with forgetting WiFi networks in Windows 11, follow the steps below.

How to forget WiFi networks in Windows 11

As mentioned above, there are multiple ways to forget a WiFi network when using Windows 11. The quickest way to do this is by clicking on the Wi-Fi icon on the Taskbar, selecting the network and forgetting it.

Click on the Wi-Fi icon or the Quick Action area at the bottom right of the Taskbar to open the Quick Action settings pane. On the settings pane, click the right arrow on the Wi-Fi settings to display all Wi-Fi networks currently in range.

All available networks within range should appear on the WiFi list. Right-click on the network you wish to forget, and select Forget.

You can also forget networks not in range by going to the settings pane.

Windows 11 has a centralized location for majority of its settings. From system configurations to creating new users and updating Windows, all can be done from its System Settings pane.

To get to System Settings, you can use the Windows key + i shortcut or click on Start ==> Settings as shown in the image below:

Alternatively, you can use the search box on the taskbar and search for Settings. Then select to open it.

Windows Settings pane should look similar to the image below. In Windows Settings, click Network & internet, and select Wi-Fi on the right pane of your screen shown in the image below.

On the Wi-Fi settings pane, click on Manage known networks.

On this screen you’ll find all the networks you’ve connected to in the past. Look through the and click the Forget button to delete the networks you don’t want Windows to remember.

That should do it!

Conclusion:

This post showed you how to forget a network when using Windows 11. If you find any error above please use the comment form below to report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.